Print Article

Unprecedented levels of sanctions imposed by the UK, EU and US all announced


On 21 February 2022, President Putin announced that Russia recognised the independence of the separatist-held regions of the so-called Donetsk People’s Republic (“DPR”) and Luhansk People’s Republic (“LPR”).

In the days following this, the US, EU and UK all issued the first tranches of sanctions regarding Russia.

On 24 February 2022, President Putin announced “military operations” in the Donbas region, quickly spreading further into Ukraine.

The Ukrainian Foreign Minister described it as a “full-scale invasion of Ukraine”

This Eversheds Sutherland Litigation Group briefing, summarises the key developments and supplements its 23 February 2022 briefing.