Print Article

Third countries align with EU’s global human rights sanctions regime


On 07 December 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1999[1] concerning restrictive measures against serious human rights violations and abuses.

Along with the EU, several Candidate Countries have also aligned themselves with this Council Decision; NAMELY:-

  1. The Republic of North Macedonia,
  2. Montenegro,
  3. Serbia and Albania[2],
  4. Bosnia and Herzegovina,
  5. Norway,
  6. Ukraine,
  7. Armenia and
  8. Georgia

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.