Print Article

EU List of High-Risk Third Countries: Communique by the Government of Mauritius  


The Mauritius Ministry of Financial Services and Good Governance of Mauritius (“MFSGG”) has issued a Communique on 01 October 2020 confirming that the EU List of High-Risk Third Countries (“EU List”) including Mauritius takes effect as from 01 October 2020.

The MFSGG also provided an update on the progress being made by Mauritius to implement within the agreed timeline all the requisite measures (“Action Plan”) to be removed from the FATF Grey List (also known as the list of jurisdiction under increased monitory by the Financial Action Task Force).

Mauritius is adamant that once it is removed from the FATF Grey List, the EU will subsequently remove it from the EU List.

Mauritius was required to submit a revised progress report to the FATF on 31 July 2020 for review by the Financial Action Task Force Africa/Middle East Joint Group (“A/ME JG”) and followed by an updated progress report on 31 August 2020.  On 08 September 2020, at the request of Mauritius, a virtual face to face meeting was held between the A/ME JG and the implementing agencies.

During the meeting, the A/ME JG underlined the efforts and steps undertaken by Mauritius, in particular under the difficult circumstances caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and has commended Mauritius on the progress made as at date.

The A/ME JG has also noted that the Government of Mauritius considers the Action Plan seriously, and prioritises necessary actions to complete the Action Plan ahead of the agreed timeline.  Furthermore, it encouraged the authorities to continue their efforts further in that direction. It is expected that Mauritius will have to submit a second progress report to the FATF for consideration at the February 2021 Plenary.


The Team

Meet the team of industry experts behind Comsure

Find out more

Latest News

Keep up to date with the very latest news from Comsure

Find out more


View our latest imagery from our news and work

Find out more


Think we can help you and your business? Chat to us today

Get In Touch

News Disclaimer

As well as owning and publishing Comsure's copyrighted works, Comsure wishes to use the copyright-protected works of others. To do so, Comsure is applying for exemptions in the UK copyright law. There are certain very specific situations where Comsure is permitted to do so without seeking permission from the owner. These exemptions are in the copyright sections of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended)[]. Many situations allow for Comsure to apply for exemptions. These include 1] Non-commercial research and private study, 2] Criticism, review and reporting of current events, 3] the copying of works in any medium as long as the use is to illustrate a point. 4] no posting is for commercial purposes [payment]. (for a full list of exemptions, please read here]. Concerning the exceptions, Comsure will acknowledge the work of the source author by providing a link to the source material. Comsure claims no ownership of non-Comsure content. The non-Comsure articles posted on the Comsure website are deemed important, relevant, and newsworthy to a Comsure audience (e.g. regulated financial services and professional firms [DNFSBs]). Comsure does not wish to take any credit for the publication, and the publication can be read in full in its original form if you click the articles link that always accompanies the news item. Also, Comsure does not seek any payment for highlighting these important articles. If you want any article removed, Comsure will automatically do so on a reasonable request if you email